Easy DIY Frozen Cake

Our niece Lea turned 5 in February and it was up to me to come up with a fun cake for her. She’s got quite the history of loooooving Frozen, much like most little girls these days. So, of course, I went the Frozen route. Here’s how I made this very simple and quick cake for her. It’s a cake I think anyone can pull off.

Easy DIY Frozen Cake

What you’ll need:

  • 2 round cake pans (I used 9 inch pans)
  • Cake mix or cake batter from scratch
  • Frosting
  • Blue food coloring
  • Pearl glitter crystals
  • Pastry bag or zipper sandwich bags
  • Fun Frozen character toy(s)
  • Other decorative pieces from the craft store

I used white cake mix and chocolate cake mix and layered the batter to create a zebra-ish effect inside of the cake. I don’t think I quite mastered it in one try, but here’s a good example of what it should look like.
Layered cake batterCakes out of the oven
After the cakes are cooled, it’s time to get decorating! On this particular day, I used about half store-bought frosting and half homemade. I made some homemade because I didn’t have enough in the can. And, it was so yummy and easy to make, I may not buy frosting ever again! Check out the recipe.

I used the squeeze food coloring you can get in the cake decorating aisle at your craft store. For Frozen, I chose a great icy blue. I frosted the layer cake and then created little peaks by just touching the frosting lightly and then pulling the spatula back off.
Frost and add textureI then added a ton of pearl crystal sprinkles to add that frozen look.
Make the cake sparkleI filled a pastry back with white frosting and used a small round tip to write “Happy Birthday” on the side of the cake. Then, I switched to a large round tip to create a fluffy snow look for Lea’s name.
Piping 1I continued to use that same method to create a snow and icicle type border.
Snow cake borderSnow cake border2All that was left was putting on the toppers. I’ve found that toys make great cake toppers. This “Olaf” toy here was about $8 from Target and he talks and sings. So, not only is it cute on the cake – it’s a fun toy to keep afterward. The number 5 and the bejeweled sticks are both from Hobby Lobby. I think they totaled $5 or so.
Olaf cakeFinal Frozen cakeSo, there you have it – a very simple Frozen cake that your birthday boy or girl will be excited to see on the table. And, I think it tasted alright too…
Lea with cakeZebra cake

Leave a Reply

