Ready to be Parents and Telling Daddy

I posted a while back that my husband Luke and I are expecting our first baby. Now I’m 16+ weeks along and finally have some energy to blog:)

Luke and I are both 29 and we’ve been married for 5 1/2 years. He’s been “ready” to have kids for a few years now, but I’ve been dragging my feet. I love kids, but I’m a bit of a perfectionist. So, I kept doubting that we were “ready”… most notably that I was ready. We were financially ready and mature enough for a baby. But, I was very busy at work, our house needed work, etc., etc. I also wanted to get in shape before we got pregnant – ha, silly girl.

People kept telling me that if everyone waited until they were “ready” that no one would ever have kids. Well, that may be true for some, but I was still all over the place. So, a little more than a year ago, we started trying. After two months of no “Aunt Flo” I just swore it must be! But, eight pregnancy tests saying “negative” later, I took a blood test. It turns out, the birth control leaving my system just had messed up my cycle. While we were bummed, I also saw the line-up for my next season at work and got cold feet. I asked Luke if we could wait another six months or so to try again so I wouldn’t miss too much of a super busy work schedule. I know – I’m a little neurotic!

Now comes the part where I became fully “ready”. Early this summer, there was seriously a switch of some sort that went off inside of my head and said “Oh my gosh. I so want to be a mommy now.” It just felt right and I couldn’t wait to start the journey with Luke. We hit the jackpot on our second month trying this time and could not be happier!

The card I made and attached to his guitar.

The card I made and attached to his guitar.

I had been tracking fertility on my many iPhone apps (yep – neurotic), so I knew when I could start the tests. Well, we returned home from a weekend of throwing Luke’s sister’s baby shower (ironic much?), and the day of our return was the day I could test. I took a negative test, told Luke we weren’t pregnant this month and (baby, don’t read this)… had a couple of small glasses of wine that night. I tried again a couple of days later just for kicks and the results were unclear. Note to self: next time get those nice digital tests that say “Pregnant” or “Not Pregnant”. But, I was using the ol’ blue plus or minus test. I took a picture of what looked like a minus with a very faint second line and showed it to my friend Ashley at work the next day. She said “Oh, that’s how mine was when I was pregnant with Annabel. Take another one tomorrow and I bet it’s fully positive!!!”

Well, I had to use the restroom at 3:30 the next morning and alas… it was positive! I waited through the entire work day to tell Luke. I didn’t want to wake him up to tell him. And, I wanted to tell him in some sort of special way. He plays his guitar almost every day and always begs me to sing with him. So, I had put a card on his guitar and asked him to come sing a song with me.

Here’s a video of his reaction. Pardon our messy office/music room. And, keep in mind that just days before I had broken the news to him that we were NOT pregnant, so he is extra surprised. P.S. This is not mobile-friendly for some reason.

Needless to say, Mom and Dad are over the moon excited for our bundle of joy, due June 3rd! Luke keeps referring to he or she as “George”. We’ll see if it sticks:)

Stay tuned for more baby blogs. I have a lot more where this came from…

6 thoughts on “Ready to be Parents and Telling Daddy

Leave a Reply

