My First 5K

Me at home before the race.

I admire runners. I always have and I think I always will. See, running isn’t something I’ve ever really been great at or enjoyed. In fact, I’ve abhorred it most of my life. It was used as a training/punishment technique in P.E. and sports while I was growing up, so that’s sort of how I viewed it. Last year, while watching my friends finish a big race, I declared “You will never see me doing anything that ends in a K.” Oh, I think I’m so funny.

Well, that brings us to today, where I am now officially a 5K finisher. To some, that may seem like a small feat, but for a self-proclaimed non-runner, that’s kind of a big deal for me. I ran the Dam to Dam 5K in Des Moines in June the same day my friends Rob and Nicole ran the full race (20K) to celebrate their five year wedding anniversary. The hubs and I went to a beach for ours, but to each their own. Ha – love you Rob and Nicole:)

Most of our runners.

Back to the 5K: not only did I run it, but I ran it in a hot pink tutu. It was part of a promotion I organized for work to promote the tour of BILLY ELLIOT THE MUSICAL coming through Des Moines. There were about 15 of us who wore BILLY ELLIOT t-shirts and tutus to run the race. We were a good-looking crew. The commitment to do this promotion helped me stay committed to my training. Since I was the leader, I couldn’t quite back out at the last minute. For about two months, I worked my way up to running one mile, then two, then the eventual three-ish that make up a 5K.

What a crazy feeling the start of a race gives you!

The day of the race, clad in my tutu and my new hot pink Saucony running shoes, I could hardly believe what my feet were doing when that start gun went off – me? In a race? And, I’m not driving a car? Ha.

Anyway, it was a beautiful day for it. I did have to stop and walk a few times throughout the route, and I did hold back my breakfast a couple of times, but I finished! My chip time was 37:11 and I couldn’t be prouder. About a couple of blocks from the finish, I really thought I was going to keel over and die… so I sprinted to the finish line! I could hear my cheering section and I caught sight of my husband out the corner of my eye. As soon as I touched that blue carpet at the end, I knew I had accomplished something great. And, I’m signed up to the do the Color Run 5K in October.

So, I’ll never be an Olympian – unless taking naps or petting cats become Olympic sports. But, I can add one more thing to my “try hard and you can do anything” list. If you’re a couch potato, no worries – so am I. Get out there and challenge yourself. You don’t have to win. You just have to do!

The start of the 5K.

I do look thrilled to be running, don’t I?

With some friends post-race, including the anniversary friends, Rob and Nicole on the right. Amy and Ben are in the middle.

12 thoughts on “My First 5K

      • Yes, I am. I started by “run-walking” (do a Google search for Jeff Galloway – he has some good run-walking tips) and signed myself up for a 1/2 marathon. I’ve been running ever since — for the past 6 years. Just don’t beat yourself up if you miss a run or two — your body needs time to rest anyway. And when you don’t feel like going, try to focus on how good you’ll feel when your run is over. Best of luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

