DIY Photo Coasters

It’s official. I crafted! Ha. I kept seeing DIY Photo Coaster tutorials pop up everywhere, so I decided I should give it a try. Much to my surprise, they were super easy and I ended up with a nice finished product. For the original blog post that I followed, click here. Otherwise, see below for steps and photos of my project.

What you’ll need:

  • photos
  • ceramic tiles
  • paint the color of the tiles
  • Mod Podge (I used glossy)
  • Tree House Studio Clear Acrylic High Gloss Coating Spray
  • felt

1) Choose photos. I used four photos from a recent Texas vacation with my in-laws because they weren’t only pretty pictures, but would be nice memories of our stay. Crop the photos to fit onto your tiles.
2) Paint the edges of the coasters with paint the same color, as the edges can be rough. I did a couple of coats.
3) Cover the area on the coaster where you want your photo with Mod Podge and stick the photo onto the tile. Allow to dry.

4) Go over the photo with Mod Podge. Do this at least three times being careful each coat is dry before applying the next.

5) Go outside and spray the coasters with the acrylic coating spray. Allow to dry. I used two coats just in case.

6) Cut felt just slightly smaller than the tiles. Hot glue these pieces to the bottoms of the coasters.

7) Stack the coasters and tie them all together with a nice ribbon or find some sort of creative container. Enjoy or give as a gift!

My mother-in-law quite enjoyed the coasters from what I could tell. Hopefully you, your friends and/or your family will too:)

Leave a Reply

