Herba(my)life: A Journey to Being Healthier

I would like to start this post by admitting that I have a sweet tooth, hate to work out and have a job/lifestyle where calorie-filled glasses of wine are often thrown at me for free. Let me also say I have never wanted to be “skinny”. I wasn’t born that way and I love who I am. I think I’m beautiful no matter how much I weigh.

However, from time to time I wish I was healthier and that being said, I have a few extra pounds my body could definitely do without. I’ve tried to lose these pounds with Weight Watchers, with diet pills, with Slim-Fast, with the basic good diet/exercise routine and even by… having my ears stapled (I know – where do they come up with this stuff). These things have only been temporary fixes.

So, at the ripe age of 28, I had just decided I would embrace my 170+ pounds of beautiful and occasionally watch my portions and work out when I felt like it. But, then something happened. I saw a photo of a friend’s transformation on her Facebook page. Now, Megan was beautiful before, but a post of her smiling self in a tiny bikini got my attention. She introduced me to a line of products called Herbalife. This is the product that helped her lose 16.5 inches in her first six weeks (not sure of her current total now).

I wasn’t looking for a magic pill. I wasn’t even really looking to get too serious about weight loss. I had gotten lazy and I was fine with that. But, last weekend I started using the Herbalife products. I have a shake for two of my three meals a day. I take four capsules of various supplements at breakfast and lunch and I take three at dinner. I drink “energy and metabolism boosting” tea in the mornings. I eat whatever I want for my third meal. Having tried Slim-Fast before, I didn’t think I would like drinking my meals, but the Dutch Chocolate and Cafe Latte shake powder I ordered make delicious treats!

Me on my 28th birthday

Herbalife is supposed to work even without intense working out. I lost four pounds in the first couple of days (I’ve gained two back thanks to it being Girl Scout cookie time – ha). I’m holding strong at three inches lost. But, no matter how my results progress, Herbalife has given me something I wasn’t expecting. Maybe it was the chunk of change I coughed up to buy the products, but the amazing thing about my Herbalife journey so far is that I’ve worked out HARD four times in the first week… and I enjoyed it! It has to be something psychological that says “you need to get the most out of this experience”. Or, maybe it’s the caffeine in one of the tablets – ha. But, whatever it is, I feel great! I feel committed. I feel fit (already).

It’s not going to be easy, but instead of embracing my 170+ pounds and my tub of Monster Cookie ice-cream, I’m embracing my health. And, it’s not to look good in a bikini or to impress anyone. It’s for me, for my body, for my well-being.

So, if you’re struggling with fitness as I always have, find something that inspires you. I’ve never felt this empowered to change my lifestyle. But, I’m definitely excited!

P.S. There is a “before” photo of me in a swimsuit, but you’ll just have to use your imagination. For some reason, I can’t get it to post to my blog;) But, here’s a fully clothed one that worked.

4 thoughts on “Herba(my)life: A Journey to Being Healthier

  1. Good luck on your personal journey; those first steps are always the hardest but once you get going, anything is possible. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

  2. Hi !

    I started my blog yesterday about Herbalife because I want to get in shape for my prom!
    I tried everything but nothing worked, although I’m happy with how I look and feel, I know I need to get healthy and Herbalife feels like the perfect thing 🙂
    I’m scared for starting ( I’m starting tommorow ) but I’m sure everything is going to be okay .. : ) Do you also have a mental coach that is helping you or are you doing it on your own?
    xoxo

    • Hi there!
      I’m so glad you are happy with how you look:) That will make your transformation more about becoming healthier inside and out. And, if this is for prom, you’ve got plenty of time to achieve your goals. Don’t be scared. This is the health program with the least amount of side effects I’ve ever tried. I do have a mental coach when I need her, but honestly, I feel like this is easy enough I don’t reach out to her often. Do you have any specific questions? I can definitely answer any based on my experience so far. Good luck on your journey. If you stay positive and on track, I bet you’ll do great!
      -Summer

Leave a Reply

