Sugar and Spice (And a Cookie Exchange)

The gals starting to feast.

Just days before Christmas I had some lovely ladies over to my house for a good ol’ Cookie Exchange. I’ve been wanting to do this for years after I had such a great time at them at other people’s houses. I felt this was the year to start the tradition at my house!

The evening began with a sit-down meal of soups and appetizers plus some wine for good measure. This was the first time I think I’ve fit nearly 15 people AT my dining room table (with extra help from my card table). Everyone was asked to bring four dozen cookies – keeping the numbers under control was key as 15 dozen cookies would have been crazy! Ha.

Ashley won Best Tasting and Best Overall Cookie.

Anyway, we voted and awarded prizes (grab baking-related prizes out of Target’s $1 bins or at your local dollar store) for:

  • most festively dressed
  • prettiest cookie
  • best tasting cookie
  • most unique cookie
  • best overall cookie

We followed the cookie-ing portion with a classic round of White Elephant (encourage guests not to spend ANY money). The gifts ranged from Carmen Electra’s Lap Dance video (jealous I didn’t get this), a sweater shaver, Budweiser beer glasses (my win – husband is happy) and of course the awful, ugly pig bobblehead from my collection of random items which ended up in the hands of my fab friend, Misty.

White Elephant Gift Exchange

White Elephant Gift Exchange

About half of the cookies in attendance.

Overall, the night was a wonderful success. I was stressed to get the house clean, the food made, the cookies beautiful and of course I always worry if people are having a good time. But, I am so glad I decided to host this festive event. I did enough of the food prep work ahead of time (thanks crockpot) and I made sure to not only play hostess, but also to have a good time myself.

My sugar cookies:)

So, my point to all of this sugar and spice talk is… if you’re stressed about throwing a Cookie Exchange or any other type of get together, remember this: as long as there is good conversation, something to eat (even if it is simple and doesn’t take a long time to make) and, well… wine helps, your guests will have a great time.

Be bold! Be a hostess! You’ll have fond memories to show for it:)

Also, here’s the best sugar cookie recipe I’ve ever found that I actually picked up at a Cookie Exchange years ago…

Leave a Reply

